How to save a life

I remember being naughty

and drinking nicotine.

I remember falling in love

with falling in love.


Drinking nicotine,

I remember listening to the homeless man

talk about falling in love.

I remembered that he is my father.


I remember listening to the homeless man

and losing 15 pounds in two weeks.

I remembered that he is my father

who feared misspelling “definitely”.


Losing 15 pounds in two weeks,

I remember burning old photos to look like coffee stains

and even though he feared “definitely”

I feared my watch would seize the pulse of my heart.


I remember burning old photos

while my father spent stranger’s allowance.

I remember fearing the constant tick of my watch

with the constant flow of nicotine in my heart.

Leave a Reply

